Publication Date

September 2005


[Excerpt] There are five important federal laws that protect individuals with disabilities from discrimination in employment and the job application process:

■ The Americans with Disabilities Act

■ The Rehabilitation Act

■ The Workforce Investment Act

■ The Vietnam Era Veterans’ Readjustment Assistance Act

■ The Civil Service Reform Act

Although many employers and individuals have a basic understanding of the ADA, the nondiscrimination policies of the other laws may be less familiar. Below is a short summary of each law and information on where employers can access additional information and compliance resources.